top of page

Sat, Oct 09


Location is TBD

License to Carry Handgun Certification Course

A comprehensive look into the Rules and Regulations for License to Carry Holders as well as Constitutional Carry Laws.

Registration is Closed
See other events
License to Carry Handgun Certification Course
License to Carry Handgun Certification Course

Time & Location

Oct 09, 2021, 9:30 AM – 3:30 PM

Location is TBD


About The Event

 The License to Carry Certification Course is designated for individuals that are looking to obtain their Texas License To Carry a Handgun Permit.

This class will consist of a proficiency test followed by an instructional course focusing on the curriculum provided by Texas Department of Public Safety:

Session One: Classroom Lecture that covers the subjects of Unlawful Carrying of a Firearm, the Use of Force/Deadly Force, Non-Violent Dispute Resolution and Handgun Use/Safe Storage Practices. Following the lecture, there will be a 25 question exam covering the lecture material relating to the rules and regulations of the state. Students must achieve a score of 70% or higher on the test.

Session Two: Shooting Proficiency Test - Students must show proficiency with a shooting a handgun. The test will be administered by a DPS Certified License to Carry Instructor. Each student must pass the proficiecny test with a score 70% or higher. You must shoot a total of 50 rounds of ammunition downrange into a standard TXCHL B-27 target from distances of 3, 7 and 15 yards.

Items Needed for the Course:

  • A Handgun - Handgun must be a .22 or larger caliber handgun (If you must rent a firearm, please select one of the two options available for firearm rentals)
  • Ammunition - You will need 50 rounds (One Box) of Ammunition (Full Metal Jacket) chambered in the firearm caliber you chose to shoot for your proficiency test.
  • State Issued Driver's License or Identification Card

*Please wear clothing that is appropriate for the weather conditions the day of the course. No slippers or flip flops are allowed on the range for the shooting proficiency test. Please bring a hat if you are able to. Eye and Ear protection are provided.*

*If you are not comfortable or have never handled a firearm, it is suggested you take a basic pistol instruction course. You may do so by emailing to set up a session or enroll in one of the many Pistol 101: Basic Pistol Instruction courses offered.

NOTE: This course is not designed to teach shooting instruction. You must be proficient with a firearm prior to taking this class.


  • LTC w/ Gun Rental & Ammunition

    This ticket includes one firearm rental (chambered in 9mm) with one box of 9mm ammunition to be utilized for the proficiency exam.

    Tax: +$12.00 State Tax
    Sale ended
  • LTC Certification Gen. Ad.

    Range and Classroom fees included. Eyes and Ear Protection are included. Ammunition nor Firearm rental not included within the purchase of this general admission ticket.

    Tax: +$9.60 State Tax
    Sale ended



Share This Event

bottom of page